Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Share |

SEA Announces 2018 Presidential Rank Awardees

WASHINGTON, DC – The White House has unveiled the 2018 cohort of Presidential Rank Award (PRA) honorees, who will be feted at the Senior Executives Association’s (SEA) and SEA Professional Development League’s (SEA-PDL) Presidential Rank Awards Leadership Summit on December 13, 2018, at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The President recognized 131 Senior Executives and Senior Professionals in 2018, including 43 Distinguished Executives, 3 Distinguished Professionals, 75 Meritorious Executives, and 10 Meritorious Professionals. The full list of 2018 Presidential Rank Awardees is available on the Summit website.  

“It is our privilege to recognize and honor the extraordinary accomplishments of these Presidential Rank Awardees,” said Bill Valdez, President of SEA and SEA-PDL.  “The PRA winners are exemplars of public service excellence, and have demonstrated a consistent and lasting dedication to the leadership ideals of the Federal government’s career civil service.”

Each year, the President of the United States recognizes a small percentage of the members of the Senior Executive Service (SES) and Senior Professionals (SL, ST) for sustained accomplishment and achievement of extraordinary results. This year, less than .02% of all career executives received awards for their outstanding achievements in public service.  This is the nation’s highest civilian career leadership award and consists of two categories:  Distinguished and Meritorious Rank Awards.

The documented achievements of the PRA honorees save American taxpayers billions of dollars annually.  PRA honorees manage complex programs, secure our nation’s homeland, advance public safety and health, and are on the front lines of delivering mission results to the American taxpayer.


The 2018 Presidential Rank Awards Leadership Summit is a full-day event offering policy and educational tracks featuring PRA recipients as panelists, networking, and mentoring opportunities to current and aspiring government leaders. In addition to multiple tracks of programming and keynote speakers, the 2018 summit will feature a lunch awards ceremony awarding 2018’s Meritorious PRA recipients and will conclude with an evening reception honoring the 2018 Distinguished PRA recipients.

Confirmed keynote speakers include OMB Deputy Director for Management and OPM Acting Director Margaret Weichert and Executive Director of Deloitte’s Center for Government Insights Bill Eggers. Full event agenda is included on the Summit website.


WHAT: 2018 Presidential Rank Awards Leadership Summit

WHEN: December 13th, 2018; 8:00 AM – 7:30 PM

WHERE: Mayflower Hotel, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20036

REGISTER: Tickets available at
Members of the media interested in covering the event may RSVP using the code PRAPRESS.

The Senior Executives Association (SEA) is a professional association representing Senior Executive Service members and other career Federal executives. Founded in 1980, SEA’s goals are to improve the efficiency, effectiveness, and productivity of the Federal government; to advance the professionalism and advocate the interests of career Federal executives; and to enhance public recognition of their contributions. For more information, visit