Washington, D.C. –  The Senior Executives Association (SEA) today announced the 2017 Presidential Rank Award recipients who will be honored at SEA’s Presidential Rank Awards Leadership Summit, happening TOMORROW, December 7, 2017, at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C. The Summit will recognize the extraordinary public service of senior career executives who have received 2016/17 Presidential Rank Awards, which are the nation’s highest civilian career leadership awards.

“It is an honor to recognize this year’s Presidential Rank Award recipients,” said SEA President Bill Valdez. “These recipients have proven themselves to be exemplars of public service excellence and have demonstrated a consistent and lasting dedication to the service and leadership ideals of the Federal government’s career civil service. On behalf of the Senior Executives Association, I am proud to extend heartfelt congratulations to all of the PRA honorees.”

Each year, the President of the United States recognizes a small percentage of the members of the Senior Executive Service (SES) for outstanding achievements in public service, as well as a proportionate number of senior-level and scientific and professional executives.  Their documented achievements save the American public billions of dollars annually.

The average agency or project budget size overseen by the 2017 Distinguished PRA winners is $12.8 billion, and they oversee budgets totaling in excess of half a trillion dollars.   The average positive economic benefit/efficiency per project headed by a 2017 Distinguished PRA recipient is $9.16 billion and the average 2017 Distinguished PRA winner is individually responsible for nearly half a billion dollars ($458 million) in savings for the Federal government/taxpayers. Total budgetary cost savings secured through the leadership of 2017 Distinguished PRA winners is over $650 billion.

The Presidential Rank Awards Leadership Summit will recognize two categories of honorees: the Distinguished Rank Award, awarded for achieving extraordinary results during an executive’s career, and the Meritorious Rank Award, given for sustained accomplishment.

The 2017 Distinguished Rank Award winners include:

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Jere Dick
  • Department of Commerce
  • Fiona Alexander
  • Richard Merrick
  • Sae Nam
  • Sivaraj Shyam-Sunder
  • Department of Energy
  • Kimberly Lebak
  • Troy Mueller 
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Gerald Ankley
  • Department of Health and Human Services 
  • Dara Corrigan 
  • Betsy Humphreys 
  • Elizabeth Richter
  • James Seligman
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • AnnMarie Highsmith
  • Brenda Smith 
  • Department of Justice
  • Robert Moossy 
  • Department of the Air Force
  • Randall Walden
  • Patricia Young 
  • Department of the Army
  • Kirby Brown
  • Elizabeth Fleming
  • Kathleen Miller
  • Bruce West
  • Department of the Navy
  • Gerald Borsuk
  • Anne Brennan
  • Jodi Greene
  • Bryan Wood
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Michael Frueh
  • Ronald Walters
  • Robert Worley II
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Dawn Schaible
  • Kirk Shireman
  • Joan Singer
  • National Transportation Safety Board
  • Dana Schulze 
  • Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • Richard Burke
  • John Casciotti
  • Terry Halvorsen
  • Theresa Whelan

For more information and the list of Meritorious Rank Award winners, please visit the SEA website.


The Senior Executives Association (SEA) is a professional association representing Senior Executive Service members and other career federal executives. Founded in 1980, SEA’s goals are to improve the efficiency, effectiveness, and productivity of the federal government; to advance the professionalism and advocate the interests of career federal executives; and to enhance public recognition of their contributions. For more information, visit www.seniorexecs.org

Tags: Presidential Rank Awards